You are currently viewing  CDs      Change department

Home   >   Departments   >   Sheet Music   >   CD Recordings   >   Jazz   >   Anita O'Day & the Three Sounds/Time for 2

Anita O'Day & the Three Sounds/Time for 2

Cover photograph
See larger image
Price £8.33
(£9.99 incl. VAT)

2 LPs ON 1 CD

This CD contains the complete LP Anita O’Day & The Three Sounds (Verve V6-8514) – the singer’s only recorded collaboration with Gene Harris – appearing here on CD in its entirety for the first time ever. Also included here is the complete album Time for 2 (Verve V6-8472), which marks Anita O’Day’s only recorded encounter with Cal Tjader. All four instrumental sides from the first album (which we have placed at the end of this CD), as well as Anita’s vocals on “You and the Night and the Music”, appear here for the first time ever on CD, as none of these five tracks was included on the Mosaic box set dedicated to the singer.


ANITA O´DAY , vocals with:

[1-7] & [20-23] Anita O’Day & The Three Sounds (4 1/2 STARS ALL MUSIC GUIDE)
Gene Harris (p), Andy Simpkins (b), Bill Dowdy (d), Roy Eldridge (tp on 2 & 6; vcl on 2).
Anita O’Day out on 20-23.]
(1-7) New York, October 15, 1962
(20-23) Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, October 12 & 13, 1962. Original sessions produced by Norman Granz.

Cal Tjader (vib, d on 19), Lonnie Hewitt or Bob Corwin (p),
Freddy Schreiber (b), Johnny Rae (d).
Los Angeles, February 26-28, 1962.
Original sessions produced by Creed Taylor


01 All Too Soon
02 Let Me Off Uptown
03 Fly Me To The Moon
04 When The World Was Young
05 My Ship
06 Whisper Not
07 You And The Night And The Music *
08 Thanks For The Memory
09 It Shouldn’t Happen To A Dream
10 Just In Time
11 Under A Blanket Of Blue
12 That’s Your Red Wagon
13 Peel Me A Grape
14 An Occasional Man
15 The Party’s Over
16 I Believe In You
17 Mr. Sandman
18 Spring Will Be A Little Late This Year
19 I’m Not Supposed To Be Blue Blues
20 Someday My Prince Will Come*
21 My Heart Stood Still*
22 Leave It To Me *
23 Blues By Five *
Total Time: 73:32

Cat No. CDW-210
Supplier Code EJC55559
Price £8.33 (£9.99 incl. VAT)
PublisherEssential Jazz Classics
Weight 106 grams
Availability In Print
You can shop online here or
call the shop on 020 8693 9879
10am to 5:30pm Monday to Saturday, we will always answer unless already on the phone!